CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Replay confirms play at plate; Yanks nail runner

Gillaspie thrown out by Gardner with game tied in sixth inning

Replay confirms play at plate; Yanks nail runner play video for Replay confirms play at plate; Yanks nail runner

NEW YORK -- The White Sox were once again on the wrong side of a play at the plate with the question of the catcher blocking the plate on Friday night at Yankee Stadium.

Conor Gillaspie attempted to score from second base on a single by Alejandro DeAza in the sixth inning of a 3-3 game, but was thrown out at the plate by a wide margin by Yankees left fielder Brett Gardner.

White Sox manager Robin Ventura asked for a crew-chief review, arguing that Yankees catcher Francisco Cervelli was blocking the plate and did not give Gillaspie a path to score. The call on the field was confirmed after a one-minute and four-second review.

Major League Baseball's Rule 7.13 stipulates that the catcher must provide a clear lane to the runner. The rule has caused some issues this season, with no one entirely sure how to interpret it. The White Sox were stung by the rule on Sunday, when the Blue Jays had a call overturned and scored a run after a review in the first inning.

Jamal Collier is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }