CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Strikeout stands after White Sox challenge

Strikeout stands after White Sox challenge

ARLINGTON -- About the only thing that didn't go right for the White Sox in Sunday's 16-2 victory over the Rangers was a sixth-inning challenge in an at-bat involving Alejandro De Aza.

With runners on first and third and nobody out, De Aza was called out on a checked swing against Robbie Ross on a pitch that appeared to hit the batter. The call on the field was that De Aza was not hit by a pitch.

More

Manager Robin Ventura challenged the ruling of De Aza not being hit, but after a review it was allowed to stand. De Aza was out on a checked swing, leaving the White Sox 0-for-3 on challenges this season.

The call didn't factor in the scoring as Marcus Semien picked up De Aza with a three-run triple later in the inning.

After the White Sox ended their four-game losing streak, Ventura explained that the challenge also was about the ball hitting the bat.

"They are saying that they don't have any evidence that it hit the bat," said Ventura, who added that the umpires said it didn't hit De Aza either upon review. "It's another one of those vague, 'It just stands.'"

De Aza was a bit more definitive about what happened to him.

"What I know is I didn't swing the bat, and the ball hit me and hit the bat," De Aza said. "I've never seen anything like that. And it's not once. It's been a few times."

There was an immediate look of pain on De Aza's face when he said the ball hit his finger. De Aza agreed that the ball clearly hit something.

"Exactly," De Aza said. "I guess they don't see it."

Scott Merkin is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Merk's Works, and follow him on Twitter @scottmerkin. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less