CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["2008_ds_cha_vs_tba" ] }

Dye called safe on disputed play

Dye called safe on disputed play

ST. PETERSBURG -- Jermaine Dye's infield single leading off the ninth inning had the Rays on their feet as replays showed Tampa Bay first baseman Willy Aybar had tagged Dye before the White Sox right fielder reached the bag.

complete postseason coverage

But first-base umpire Ron Kulpa called Dye safe.

More

"I felt like I tagged him before he got to the base, I really don't have anything else to say," Aybar said through translator Dioner Navarro.

Kulpa didn't ask for help, but it was a moot point when Paul Konerko bounced into a double play.

"[Kulpa] had to rush to see the play, so I thought he would have asked for help because he didn't have a great view of the play," Aybar said. "But it was a [bang-bang] play, so there's nothing we can do about it."

Jim Molony is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less
{"content":["2008_ds_cha_vs_tba" ] }
{"content":["2008_ds_cha_vs_tba" ] }